Saturday, October 21, 2017

WE'RE NOT REALLY DEAD!!! FOLLOW US ON FB AND Y/T

So we're not done done...
This page is going to stay live but we're not going to be doing text reviews anymore, CHR has moved into another realm which is OGR / CHR... Outdoor Gear Review and Climbing Hold Review!

We are still going to review climbing products, but they will not be our main focus

My fingers are feeling better, mainly because of the rest and because of some drugs i'm trying to help with the problem

SO.. HERE'S WHAT YOU NEED TO DO!!

1: Subscribe to us on You Tube, because that's where all of the reviews are going to be!!

2: Go and follow us on the OGR / CHR Facebook page

And just to prove we're NOT DEAD, here's our latest review that we finished up yesterday on the Biolite Campstove 2...

We have some cool climbing stuff coming very soon so remember to follow and subscribe to us so you miss none of the action!!

Best

Noodles

Full post here!

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

CHR CLOSED FOR BUSINESS

I posted on social media yesterday that Climbing Hold Review is closing up shop... I didn't post here as I wanted to stop and gather my thoughts a little more.

FIRSTLY: We're not stopping because we want to, we're stopping because I have Osteoarthritis in his fingers from 30 years of climbing and because the outcome of that is unclear at this present time

WHAT IS CLEAR: Is that I can still climb, just not at the frequency that is required for reviews... sure I could sit behind a desk and talk about holds but I feel that would be cheating and that's not how I / we roll.

SO I'VE: Made the tough decision to shut down after 10 years... it's not a fun decision on my part as I feel that I'm loosing a big part of me and what I do... at least I can still climb :)

OVER THE YEARS: We've made lots of friends (and enemies), we've spent too much money, made non but had a total blast climbing on lots of holds from lots of different brands

WE WANT: To thank all of the readers and watchers and especially that companies that believed that we were a viable option for advertising their holds, and we're super proud that we shaped the climbing hold industry in a few different ways

IT'S A SAD: sad day... And I don't like to be writing this, I really don't but I'm in the process of x-rays and MRI's to see if anything can actually be done to correct the problem that has gotten worse in the last six months

BUT HOLD UP... THERE IS SOME GOOD NEWS

The keen eyed will have noticed that the Climbing Hold Review youtube channel has suddenly changed names! It has, although holds aren't going to be a priority climbing shoes / harness' / camping gear and all the things we love about the great outdoors are now going to be open fodder for our particular blend of sarcasm and review love... Yes we're starting a new adventure in the next months where (like we've already done with some shoes and belay devices) we're branching out into the wider World of everything outdoors

So you don't get rid of me that easily. This page will remain active... BUT IT WON'T BE UPDATED... so go and SUBSCRIBE to our Youtube channel... because I know all of you love our particular blend of no BS reviews

It's been a fun road, I've loved doing what we did but now we move onto something else... something more climbing in general and the outdoors related

Climb Happy, Climb Safe! Thanks for being along for the ride

Full post here!

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

NEW A-Z LIST OF CLIMBING COMPANIES ADDED

NEWS:
Two reviews in a matter of days, the world has gone crazy I tell you... CRAZY

CLEAN UP OF HOLD COMPANIES:
We have new people to add to the page... BUT there are lots of people that don't exist anymore (or their website is dead)... here is a list of WHO WE ARE REMOVING; if you are still making holds then please email us and let us know and we will add you back onto the list

We are also making a big post about who's left :)

PEOPLE BEING REMOVED:
Oakstone / Vitruvian Volumes / Phantom Climbing Holds / Orogen Climbing / Orange Climbing Holds / Project Holds / Summit Labs / Vision Climbing / Contact Climbing / DRCC / Prinz / World Cup / Black Swan / Tsun Holds / Code Holds / Magnus Holds / Klutch Climbing / Peak VX / Hang Fast Climbing / Rock Op / Planet Holds / Kando Holds / Warts

A-Z List is: HERE

NEW REVIEW:
 Blue-Pill Climbing from Germany sent us some sweet screw on holds to play with... we set hard with these little guys
Read the review HERE



Real rock holds... basically drilled rock from Select Agents... go and read the good and the bad below

Read the review HERE

------



------------SUBSCRIBE TO US------------

youtube-buttonfbinsta

Full post here!

Climbing Hold Companies 2017

CLICK LINK FOR A FULL A-Z LIST OF ALL COMPANIES


Full post here!

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Review > Blue-Pill Climbing > Spax One

Hailing from Blaubeuren, Germany, Blue Pill is the brain child of Johannes Kielmann and Jospeh Wetzel, both of them are routesetters and shapers that seem to be multi talented. These guys also have a company called Kletter Kultur (Translation: Climbing Culture) which is a routesetting business that looks after setting / cleaning and all the ins and outs that us routesetters all love

So... these guys seems to be pretty well set up... and as it seems to be the case of late, these routesetters turned their attention to what they were using to set and then started a company

We were contacted as we normally are to see if we'd want to play with some of their holds; Noodles being a lovely little Euro boy that he is always wants to see holds from Europe, jumped at the chance (and he's the boss so the rest of us didn't have a choice)... we're pretty glad he jumped at the holds we recieved

NOW... lets look at the holds quickly and then Noodles can make a small admission to what he did:

Blue Pill Spax One



Full post here!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Review > Select Agents > Real Rock


Select Agents Inc.
Nick here: A mutual friend friend set us up with this review for Todd Joyal. Oddly enough, we had never heard of Select Agents, and Select Agents hadn't heard of us!

We thought we knew everyone in the industry :p guess we learn something new everyday:) Our mutual friend brought Todd on board for a review. Todd is the owner of Select Agents Inc. who manufactures climbing holds made from real rock. Select Agents uses all types of rock to manufacture their holds. If you have a particular stone you wish to have on your wall, Todd will be more than happy to accommodate you. Needless to say, this review is going to be different in a lot of ways. Different good, different bad ? Well we will let you decide ;)


We got these back around winter 2016, and they have been at the Wall Nuts Climbing Gym in St. John's, Newfoundland ever since. They have spent majority of their time on the wall through several resets, needless to say, we have had a lot of time to thoroughly put these holds through the ringer to see how they hold up, and their pros and cons. Select Agents sent us a variety of different holds made from Canadian Shield Granite out of Northwestern Ontario. They sent us seven holds.

The 6 holds survived over a year with an 18V impactor that we used to set them with, the same force we would use on any other product. We didn't handle them with any special care either because we want to treat holds the same as much as possible.  We dropped them from the top of our ladders onto Crash Pad like any other hold; they held up pretty well.

None of the meatier holds broke yet. We will keep you posted. There will always be some space on the wall for real rock, especially in the bowels of the winter season. Lets see how long they last :)

Our set with One Years Worth of Traffic (Never been Cleaned)


Full post here!

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Review > StickyRock.com > 15 Incut Pinch Set

Lets get this one out quickly; yes there is a Synrock logo but these holds are from StickyRock whose website isn't ready yet. But you know Synrock, that's owned by Mr Jim Bowers and this is his new company... we've reviewed his holds many many times and sometimes the reviews are good sometimes and this is way in the past, way way in the past before he perfected his products they have been so-so

Now we'll say this is a different company and a different type of product that's has similar design calls to his older products but at the same time its different... so lets get rolling and see what we're talking about


Full post here!

Friday, December 30, 2016

Review > Binary > True Grit 1 & 2 and Almost Triangle

It's pretty unusual that a climbing hold company flies under our radar! Binary is one such company that for some reason we missed until someone who was stoked on their products brought them to our attention... they managed to get away with almost 2 years of hold making before we got some of their shapes and started to do what we do...

And you know what we do :)

We have three sets for you this time True Grit 1 & 2 and Almost Triangles


The True Grit's are part of the Grit Series that Binary Holds produces and the Almost Triangles are part of the Waves series...

Binary have started making holds to allow route-setters to focus on the movements that the climber is being asked to execute rather than have fancy crazy looking shapes.. and we think you know where we stand on that, simple is generally better when it comes to climbing... of course it depends upon the person that is setting and or the person that is holding the budget when it comes to actually ordering shapes

Normally we'd post some of the rest of the line ups here but their website doesn't have an option to see holds by their series... but a little digging and a download of their order form allowed us to pull up some info for you to digest...

The Wave Series consists of four sets that totals 15 holds, Tsunami (2), Almost Triangle (3), Over Easy (5) and Nemesis (5) and the True Grit Series has 40 holds, True Grit 1&2 (10 holds), Grit Edge (5), Grit sloper (5) Grit Bits (10) and just added Grit Pinches (10)...

There are 670 shapes split over 170 sets and kicking in at an average MSRP of $63 CDN which translates to sub $50 USD per set (footholds included to the number is off)

If you stop and peruse their site you can see that there is a pretty good range of simple clean looking shapes that the images do not do any kind of justice to... the Almost Triangles are just clean looking and feeling shapes where the True Grit have a proper grit texture and style to them; it's not "Grit-lite" but any stretch of the imagination!

 The Grits really shine and then you look at the Almost Triangles and well Noodles he broke out the camera and made some magic

Yeah these are some pretty looking shapes... but how functional are they??

Lets get digging... we set and we set hard with these two sets... how hard...

Pretty damn hard; the route totally split the top climbers with no one getting to the top on the evening of the competition. But there were a number of sends in the following weeks, none of which we saw but one of our CHR athletes walked in and flashed it in a pair of sneakers :)

SUGGESTED USES TRUE GRIT 1 & 2:






Now these holds are pretty versatile; 90% of them will go easily on a 45 degree wall if you're somewhat strong, the slightly sloped ones are going to cause you a hard time... if you watch the climbing video then you'll that we're actually pulling on almost a roof for the start of the route on these holds. But that is careful foot placement and many hours of tweaking to get that move to work

For most people these holds will be awesome on a 30 degree wall and anything that's less than that

If you want some really Grit like holds then these are well up there, they're not something that you can session for hours and hours because of the grit texture and some sharp edges

SUGGESTED USES ALMOST TRIANGLE:







We're not sure if this is the lowest angle we've ever given to a set of holds; on 15 degrees these holds are going to be hard!! But hard-awesome-hard; these holds are like we said in one of our videos "the slopers of doom"

Hard? So so hard even on a 22.5 degree wall that we just built you cannot (or we cannot) hang on these holds, they are evil (in a good way); if you need some holds that are going to test you on shallow angles then these guys are your answer

OVERALL BUILD
  • Number of holds:
    • True Grit 1: 5
    • True Grit 2: 5
    • Almost Triangles: 3
  • Type (Bolt / Screw Ons):
    • True Grit 1 & 2: Martini bolts
    • Almost Triangle: Normal bolts
  • Price per hold (set price divided by number of holds):
    • True Grit 1: $32/5 = $6.40 CDN per hold
    • True Grit 2: $34/5= $6.80 CDN per hold
    • Almost Triangle: $118/3 = $39.33 BDN per hold
  • Color: Red across the board
  • Bolt placement: Middle
  • Sanding: Great
  • Hollow backed: Almost Triangle yes
  • Soft back (Rubber backed): No
  • Texture: 
    • True Grit 1 & 2: Almost perfect grit texture, not for long sessions
    • Almost Triangle: Slightly smooth with a slight bite
  • Set size:
    • True Grit 1 & 2: Small
    • Almost Triangle: XL
  • Versatility:
    • True Grit 1 & 2: Good up to 45 degrees
    • Almost Triangle: Limited to shallow angles
  • Pre-drilled screw holes: YES!!!
  • Shaper: 
    • True Grit 1 & 2: Graeme Olson
    • Almost Triangle: Kate Slaba
  • Weight:
    • True Grit 1 & 2: 430g & 450g
    • Almost Triangle: 3150g
  • Where can you get them: http://www.binaryholds.com/
We'll start with the most puzzling thing about the True Grits, despite the holds being pretty much the same size not all of them had set screw holes... it seemed a little strange when Noodles was doing the walk through that he was genuinely confused by it... maybe not having a set screw hole to see the look on his face was worth it :) The other downside is that the Almost Triangles aren't quite the same shade of red as the True Grits; this does sometimes happen with larger shapes but it was off just enough for us to notice it

Bad's done.. now with the good

It's nice to see people making holds for martini headed bolts because they do distribute the weight of a climber pretty damn well and it also means that you can make thinner holds! Now we did complain about the lack of set screw holes above so lets get this elephant out of the closet... the True Grits never span and we didn't use set screws... "aha you say, then why complain about it?" because you should always use a set screw even if the weight is evenly distributed across the hold just as a safety precaution.

The True Grits are probably the most 'grit like' holds that we've seen in a long time and it's kind of refreshing for a change but there is a down side to all of the lovely grit texture... they are very bitey so they can get a little painful... BUT your skin does get a bit better because of that. On the opposite side the Almost Triangles are so nice to grab onto (if you can grab onto them) that you want to climb and can climb on them all day, their texture is superb

Big ol slopers means good hollow backs and Binary Holds have gotten this down it seems; nice even hollow backs for the Almost Triangles and nice center columns means they've shed weight but have retained all of their strength. Sanding across the ranges is good with a couple of small bobbles that didn't make any difference what-so-ever

These holds went through a number of resets and they were not pampered in any way shape or form... the setters just unbolted them and threw them into a bucket and washed them a few times. The True Grits held up wonderfully but there was a slight chip to the outside edge of one of the Almost Triangles, it's tiny but it did happen :(

WHAT ARE THEY MADE FROM:
Urethane

PACKING / SHIPPING:
Awesome

RATING:
Noodles:
I cannot talk about the Almost Triangles without talking about other slopers that have captured my imagination over the years; of course I'm going to mention Enix and Teknik. The triangles do remind me of some shapes from those companies and these holds would fit in pretty well in their company that's for sure

What irks me slightly is that I've built a new wall at 22 degrees and I can't hang on these holds on it.. yup when we talk about limited angle range for the Almost Triangles we do mean it, these holds are hard and anything over 10 degrees overhung is going to be a work out that's for sure. That being said Binary Holds have so many slopers that all I'm going to do is invest is some of them for the wall (aka: more review fodder) so that I can happily play around on more of their shapes

It's a bit of a sad excuse... and it's also sad that these holds are sitting in a box either waiting for me to expand my wall (lets not kid ourselves here... it'll happen) or for me to just get stronger

On the whole I'm pleased with all of the holds; setting with the Triangles and Grits on one route made for an interesting experience, it pushed my setting skills a little and it did make a fun route that I did manage to climb (I hit the second sloper and launched to the volume) and other people seemed to like. Some did complain about the Grit's being sharp but my answer was "go to the Peak District and go climb there :)

I'm pretty pleased with what we've seen from another Canadian hold company; it seems that making holds and not just holds, quality products up here in the Great White North is picking up

Welcome to the family Binary Holds; good work I can't wait to see what else you have planned

Chris:
Watch Noodles run and watch him hide from the True Grit's :) Strange as you'd think with him being from England, Land of the Grit that he'd be all over talking about them.

Let me recount a little session we had the other night; we were putting the new wall through its paces and whilst we waited for more holds to arrive we had a limited range of things to play with. The Almost Triangles were out because they were too hard so that left us with the True Grits and an overhanging wall... you know what happened? We relived some classic grit stone movies on the computer whilst we had a fun session of these holds... With Hard Grit playing in the background and then One Summer Bouldering in the Peak ready in the wings we were Ben Moon and Jerry Mofffat (I think I was Moon and Noodles was the fat one) we were climbing the Joker and End of the Affair we were probably transported to another place entirely

We hit these holds hard and as they got more chalked up they did get a little "softer" on our skin but not much. After a few hours we were done; our skin was sore but we both had smiles on our faces. With a beer in hand to help soothe the skin we talked about the holds; we decided that if you want some "proper grit edges" then these are probably the best that we've seen in years but if we were setting long routes that we'd want something to mix up the hard edges so that it wasn't so brutal. Now there are slopers in the sets and they do provide some nice relief but we'd probably want something like the edges but with a little less aggressive texture

I'll shadow the boss; it's great to see another addition to the Canadian climbing scene; I'm impressed with what we've seen

PROS:
  • Cheap if you're paying from the US
  • Great build 
  • Large range of holds
CONS:
  • Almost Triangles have a limited angle window
  • True Grits are only good for short sessions because of their texture

Full post here!

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Review > Metolius Climbing Holds > Mini Tech Feet, Morphology, Basic Pockets, Splines and Rimple Volume

Last time we looked at Metolius climbing holds it was because they had released a new line of urethane holds. Where they were one of the innovators of things to bolt onto walls they were soon surpassed by new materials that was better than their resin offerings.

Controversial statement?

Probably! Actually a fact the industry did leave them behind for a great number of years but now they produce urethane and resin

Resin DOES have a place in the market because it lasts a long time and if you don't throw your holds onto a hard surface then they do basically outlast urethane. But Metolius did shape a new line of climbing holds that we looked at (you can read that review: here) last time we looked at Orbs. Cobbles, New Wave, Mud and the Sunspots... not the full ranges but a sample offering of what they had at the time. This time it's pretty much the same, except we're kicking it with some Basic Pockets, Morphology, some Splines and a Rimple volume

As usual there is going to be a bunch of information, so lets get kicking with the holds, actually lets do two things.. lets look at the holds and look at Metolius' own walk through on some of these holds :)
Metolius Climbing Basic Pockets
Metolius Climbing Splines


Metolius Climbing Morphology

Metolius Climbing Rimples
Metolius Mini Tech Feet


Full post here!

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Review > Plastick > Bananas Small and XL


AHA! Another Canadian company that you've not heard of; we do love getting holds from new people and showing them to the World

You may not have heard about Plastick because they're small, but you might have heard of the guy who shapes, pours and mails out these holds to his customers... his name is Seb Lazure and he's a pretty good climber... you know he climbs for the Canadian team, generally places on the podium at most of the competitions he enters... boulders double digit problems, is sponsored by 5.10 and Organic and when he's not kicking peoples ass' in comps he makes some holds

He's also super humble and a great person all round...

So holds; that's what we're here for right? We have two sets for you this time, both of them are screw ons and they're very minion like...
BANANA!
plastick-climbing-holds

plastick-climbingholds-urethane


Full post here!

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Review > Citrus Holds > Oysters




So when there's a presidential election the exchange rates generally go a little crazy; importing holds from another country is generally expensive but when you have a small handed buffoon and someone who claims to not know how to use email properly in a race for the big red nuclear button then things get a little weird

Where were we going with this?

Ah yes; the exchange rates (elections aside) are sometimes in your favor but most of the time they're not and when they're really not then you tend to shop in your own country.

Citrus is a new company that's actually not far away from where we hide in Canada and when we saw these holds... and the price we couldn't resist asking to review some.

Lets check out the Oysters:
Firstly we'll point out that Citrus really should add some better pictures of these holds on to their website thankfully Noodles is a shutter bug and he took some photos when the holds arrived:
















Full post here!

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Review > Motavation Volumes > Teton S & Eldo S


We have history with Motavation Volumes.. we go waaaay back from when they started making wooden volumes! It doesn't mean we're not going to be our usual selves BUT if you want to see where they started and where they are now we suggest that you look at our older reviews:

Small and medium GEN 1 volumes: here
Waylon and Billy's: here
James and Pele: here

So that's starting back in 2009; that's a bunch of reviews on a company that started out small (two car garage) and has now grown to a 8,300 sqft facility that now boasts a C'N'C machine and probably air conditioning. They've sponsored World Cups and now they've added some more stuff to their already great line up which we'll get into later

Lets talk about what we're reviewing:



Full post here!

Friday, July 1, 2016

Review > Solve Climbing > Granite (Various Sizes)

It seems that last year, 2015, was a big year for climbing hold companies. A lot were created from no where and we lost Revolution and Pusher, if there is space in a void then it will be filled.... we lost two but we gain many many more!

One of the new guys to come to our attention is Solve Climbing, and although their line up wasn't really that huge we contacted them to run a review. In fact this is something different for us, we teamed up with The Proving Ground (there review is: here) so we could drop both of our reviews at the same time!! It's something new for us (and for you!) so be sure to read both of the reviews to see what we think
Right, so we contacted Solve to grab some holds... we gave them the usual "whatever you think we should see" and they were right we'll get some stuff out to you then, and they did... 7 sets and one feature of their granite line so this review is going to be a fun ol' mish mash because there's a lot to talk about.

Lets get to it:


Full post here!

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Review > Enix Climbing > Pumps


enix

Right first up let us have a little confession session; these holds are called the Pumps and not the Bumps like we called them in the walk / climb video.

Why did we make such an easy mistake on the name?

Because of our special guest... he said "these holds would be great to bump to" and it totally stuck. So we'll obviously give negative points to Brian who owns the company for naming these holds incorrectly :)

Lets look at what we're talking about first of all:


Five simple, clean holds that look like they're going to be a simple, easy time...


Full post here!

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Review > Metolius > NEW URETHANE SHAPES

Polyurethane Climbing Holds

Stay tuned kids this is going to be a long one.. and when we say long you're talking about two (actually three) reviewers and a walk through video that is 30+ minutes long!! Grab a cup of coco or tea or whatever is your bag and sit back and have a read...

For reference we're a little way from what we usually write as there are many people in many different places for this review... when you see SUGGESTED USES we're also going to talk about what we did with the holds here and some of the build issues that we found. 

We've also broken down the sets to their themes to make it easier for you to read! And when you look at FULL SET INFO we're giving a general overview on the whole set and then we're talking about the full set price not just what we received. We will talk more about the holds we received in the ALL SETS wrap up at the end :)

When Metolius switched over to PU (don't worry they still pour their old stuff) and the opportunity arises for you to review said holds, you jump at that opportunity. It's a no brainer for sure; we've had a long relationship with them since the beginning of this site and when you get an email saying "hey would you like to see our new holds" you're brain goes in two directions... are they just going to remake the old shapes in a new medium or are they going to have new shapes to add to their already large hold line.... well it's a bit of both and whichever way you look at it... it's gooooooood


Full post here!